Skip to content

Twilight New Year’s resolutions…

January 2, 2010

Edward: I will not watch people sleep without their permission.

Jacob: I will not kiss people who don’t want to kiss me.

Bella: I will stop being so self-deprecating.  I will stop serving others and take some notes from Oprah’s book to put myself first once in awhile.

Rosalie: I will stop obsessing over my beauty and do something to better myself or the world with all my vamp powers.
Alice: I will get the costume designer for New Moon to re-think my wardrobe. I don’t want to be wearing frowzy tents and idiotic smocks in Eclipse!

Renee: I will show everyone there’s more to me than ditzy-headedness.

Charlie: I will learn to cook.

Esmee: I will stop living vicariously through my children.

Carlisle: I will dye my hair a more pleasing shade. This yellow blond has got to go.

Emmett: I will volunteer as a big brother to some of the local kids less fortunate than I…

Jasper: I will stop controlling others emotions and try to start controlling my own.

Jessica: I will stop playing the air-head and repressing my smarts. I will not go to the movies with Bella Swan.

Mike: I will stop falling for girls who treat me like a dog or refer to me as a golden retriever.

Justin: I will no longer accept being a drop of piss in a sea of snow.

Angela: I will join AFEW and denounce PETA.

Leah: I will stop obsessing over being infertile. Who wants a bunch more wolf brats running around the place, anyhow?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Roxie permalink
    January 15, 2010 2:00 am

    I like these, except for Leah’s. I think a lot criticism is too harsh on her. I don’t see her so much as baby hungry as much as I see her completely thrown, angered, and despairing b/c she feels her body as betrayed her. She feels isolated as the only female wolf and there really is no one for her to talk to.

    There are theories, however, that her cycle has become more like one of an actual female wolf.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      January 18, 2010 6:34 pm

      Roxie,
      Thanks for your comment.
      I used to view Leah really negatively, but she has grown on me. In a sense, I think Meyer promotes a harsh view of her, but as a reader I want to like her and feel Meyer sells her short.
      I have not read the theories you speak of — can you send me a link if you have one?

  2. Roxie permalink
    January 19, 2010 1:06 am

    I absolutely agree with you about Meyer’s presentation of Leah. Meyer definitely sells her short. Leah is one of my favorite characters, but to see who (I think) she truly is, requires some reading between the lines.

    It seems through out the books she has a nasty attitude, but I don’t think Leah’s anger or bitterness is unjustified. I mean, she was in this long relationship with Sam, who dumps her for her cousin. Then she finds out she’s a shape shifting werewolf–the ONLY female one–and now she has to obey Sam’s orders. Not only that, but when in wolf form she can hear his thoughts & he can hear hers.

    Here are some links to the theory that Leah’s cycle might be more like that of a female wolf’s.
    http://forum.twilightlexicon.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=504#p6179

    http://twilightmoms.net/viewtopic.php?f=259&t=10961&start=45

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      January 20, 2010 8:06 pm

      Roxie,
      Yes, she indeed sells her short! I agree her anger is justified. However, she is presented as an annoying bitch rather than a rightfully angry she-wolf. Thanks for the links. Going to check them out now!

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      January 20, 2010 8:09 pm

      Ok, found this comment at the 2nd link: “I’d like to think that Leah’s ovaries aren’t all fried, but that’s definately something to think about. I still think she’ll have a baby or babies eventually.” Why of why does this “you have to have babies to be complete” meme rear its ugly head so often! I guess I shouldn’t be surprised this is a running notion in twi-commentary given the way the series frames motherhood as the bees knees…

Leave a comment