Skip to content

Comic-Con’s Breaking Dawn Panel from a 12-year-olds Perspective

August 10, 2011

(Please welcome a new guest contributor, Naomi, age 12)

When I found out that I was going to Comic-Con for the Breaking Dawn panel I was thrilled! Of course, the long trek from the parking lot with our heavy stuff and then sleeping on cold, wet, hard ground was not ideal, but it was worth it for the experience.

I was interviewed by two journalists, talked with fellow line members, and got autographs from Twilight stars such as Ashley Greene, Boo Boo Stewart, Nikki Reed and Elizabeth Reaser.

During the panel, everyone went crazy for Taylor Lautner, Kristen Stewart and Robert Pattinson. I was disappointed that Kristen Stewart appeared as if Comic-Con and the fans don’t matter enough to brush your hair or wear a top that your bra doesn’t show through.

Some of the questions from fans were hilarious (as were Kristen’s confusing and weird answers).

One question was  from a little girl, maybe 6, who asked Robert “Did you like having a baby with Kristen?” Rob answered, “By the look on your face, you ‘d think you were asking something else,” which seemed a weird comment to make to a kid! Since the questions had to be approved, apparently someone thought this was a good question for the panel. Rob’s answer seemed to indicate that he thought what she was really asking was “Do you like having sex with Kristen?” Whether this is what she meant or not, I felt it was odd he replied in this way. She was like 6!

Rob went on to say he loved babies and being in movies with them. Many of the other panelists noted the birth scene was one of their favorites. I don’t understand why so many of them name this scene as their favorite as it is a scary scene that involves lots of pain for Bella.

Though it was fun to experience all the fandom craziness in one room, I wished the other panelists – Nikki Reed, Ashley Green, and Elizabeth Reaser, would have had more questions directed to them. There is more to Twilight than the big three! My personal favorite was Ashley Greene because she gave worthwhile answers that were not super weird (like Kristen) or creepy (like Rob) or full of himself (Taylor), and, unlike some of the others, she didn’t hog the microphone or go on and on.

If I get to go to Comic-Con next year, I hope they will have more questions for all of those on the panel, not just the big three. And I hope that the stars come through and give autographs for those in line again! That was a definite highlight, especially when Elizabeth Reaser asked me about my “Team Wilson” button and I got to tell her about my mom’s book.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 1:15 am

    NAOMI! Great article little feminist, you are a very articulate writer. You slept outside with your mom? WOW. Meeting the cast members must have been cool, nice to hear Ashley Green is REAL. What kind of questions about Alice did she answer?

    When it comes to Kristen Stewart, i’ve just learned to accept that weird/elusive interview answers, and a wardrobe that looks like something a homeless person would wear (i swear the girl lives in a dumpster) is just part of the package.

    Rob is just a special (in a good way i suppose). I think he loves his job and loves that Twilight has launched his career but he also sees the book and movies failing. He’s described the books as voyeuristic, like being SM’s personal diary (Edward being HER perfect man, b/c she IS Bella). So seeing the whole thing as a little “weird” and strange, he gives illusive answers and was probably wondering why the hell a 6 yr old was watching the films. I call him my favorite fandom troll, he has no qualms about calling out the books/movies on the crazy sh*t that they ‘teach’.

    And from the Rob fans i’ve meet online, there is reason the birth scene and the baby in the films intrigued them. Any Rob fan over the age of 15? 16? maybe younger but especially the over 30 crowd, LOVES to see Rob with kids. When the behind the scene pics from “Water for Elephants” showed him holding his ‘son’ in the film, women were freaking out. I’m sure we could write a whole other post on this.

    Taylor being full of himself? I’m not a fan of his, but it’s sad to see that the fame and big biceps have gone to his head.

    I’m glad you had a good time & we all need to go see BD together!

    -Erinne

    PS- Love to see more posts from you!

    • Naomi permalink
      August 10, 2011 1:45 am

      Thanks Erinne. I guess the Twilight cast is just a little crazy. Ashley Greene said she was going to miss everybody a lot and she was talking about how Alice steps up and saves the day. I wouldn’t suggest sleeping outside it’s not that comfy. I got interviewed by Hollywood life and I went to their website but there was too many bad Kristen Stewart bra pictures for me to handle!

      Well I would love to see BD together I will probably be laughing the whole time! The comic con honeymoon footage was pretty funny.

      I wanted to write a post about Vampire Diaries (The best show ever!!!!). And watch out for my bio.

      Hope I will see you soon!

      Can’t wait for BD!

      Peace, love and reading,
      Naomi

  2. Creative Admirer permalink
    August 10, 2011 5:12 am

    Comic-Con has been such an event for many people for a long time. It means so much to an incredible amount of people that any members of the cast would take time out of their lives to come and participate and promote their movie at the same time, lets not forget that. That’s what the blog I moderate has been discussing lately, the unbelievable reaction of the famous once they get famous. When you are making that much money and living with all the luxuries you are also working a almost 24 hour job. That goes with the territory, which was the basis of the conversation, I’m a bit unbiased as a moderator but I share my opinion from time to time. Because I love to write and I require a resources that allows me the movies and TV options necessary to give me an array of choices. I’ve finally gotten my hands on some awesome new technology called the Sling Adapter available through Dish Network free thru a rebate which has changed a lot of things for me. The app is free and downloads to iPads or Smartphone’s and it’s really that simple. It has given me the ability to access movies that are in my programming package plus access to tons of other online entertainment. With the online content I can get tons of movies and thousands of TV episodes but I can also schedule my DVR events remotely if need be. This is important due to the fact that I write for a film blog and that is an important part of my life this helps a lot. My work for Dish Network will always require travel which will take me away from my blog but I can research everything I need while I’m away. Then when I get home I am prepared to write. It ended up working out wonderful. I have never been anywhere near a Comic-Con when they are going on even in my travels and really hope to make it to one because I would love to dress up and just enjoy the fun and fantasy.

  3. Yasie permalink
    August 10, 2011 6:44 am

    As a true Twi-hard, I am always amazed to see how people put such adoration into the actors and actresses of the movie series. It is even more a shame, in the case of Twilight, that the three “lead” actors are awkward and strange to phrase it nicely.

    This was a wonderful summary of what I worry about when I think of this movie franchise and the young fans! As with any book character, it scares me that young adults (and some grown-ups) project their love onto the movie stars. Having had the pleasure to camp in a line for 14 hours to see Elizabeth Reaser and Nikki Reed in person at a Twilight event, they definitly redeem the “big three” when it comes to appreciation and respect of fans, and the intellect and maturity behind their comments and answers of questions.

    The only consolation I can provide as to the birth scene being a favorite amongst many of the actors is that very quickly into the event, Bella’s spine was broken and so she did not feel the pain of the delivery.

  4. August 10, 2011 1:58 pm

    Great entry! I could just imagine the atmosphere.

    I don’t know why, ever since I’ve been watching movies, I’ve often liked supporting characters more than the main ones. It always makes me a little disappointed as well, how little attention is sometimes devoted to them.

Trackbacks

  1. Comic-Con's Breaking Dawn Panel from a 12-year-olds Perspective … | Elizabeth Reaser

Leave a Reply

