Skip to content

The Official Twilight Guide is Nearly Here – will you buy it?

April 9, 2011

The guide, sure to be snapped up by eager Twi-fans the world over, is coming out April 12th. Carol Memmott of USA TODAY posted an exclusive interview about the guide as well as a recap of the ten winning fans that recently got to meet with Meyer.

Excerpts from the post are below (in quotes), with my comments in italics.

“When Stephenie Meyer walks into a room of Twilight fans, there’s no doubt she’s their undisputed vampire queen.” Interesting description in many ways. Especially given the “eternal celestial kingdom” of Mormonism that is kinda like being an immortal vampire. I read the Cullens as figurative Mormons, so this metaphor for Meyer places her as metaphorical “mother God” of  the Twilight fandom.

“Meyer… is looking a little more Hollywood these days and a bit less like a suburban mom of three.” Looking a little more Hollywood? Is this a good thing? Should we be celebrating the celebrification of everyone from American Idols to authors? Oh, yay, the beauty imperative is getting stronger. Just what we need. And why, why, why does she have to endlessly be framed as a mother of three? There is nothing wrong with being a mother (I personally love it), but think if she were male and a father – would this descriptor always hang over her head? It’s patronizing. Like “look at what the little housewife can do.” Gag.

Memmott then goes on to quote extensively from Meyer, noting that she says of the forthcoming illustrated guide “”My favorite part is the vampire histories. There’s a lot there that’s new. Alice’s (Cullen) back story is one no one has known until now. And I think fans will be surprised at how much fun (Cullen nemesis) Victoria’s story is.” Ooooh. Now this I am interested in. More Alice! More Victoria!

On the birth scene, Meyer reveals, “I’ve only seen a rough cut and there are pieces missing, but I don’t feel like it’s graphic. You’re not seeing it, but you know what’s happened. It’s emotional. It doesn’t feel horror-ish. There’s blood, probably the most blood we’ve ever seen in the series.” Hmmm. If it’s not horror-like it’s not in keeping with how the book portrays this scene. Wish we had a rational as for WHY it needs to be presented as NOT horror-ish – I mean, isn’t this one of the MOST horrific, bloody scenes? Why “pretty” it up? Could it have anything to do with what I would say is the decidedly pro-pregnancy, pro-life message of the saga?

Finally, on the ending of filming Meyer shared, “I don’t know when it’s going to get me…but I know it will, and at that point I’m going to be a sobbing mess on the floor.” Yes, she and a bazillion Twilight fans the world over will likely share this sobbing mess state when the films are finally complete. Perhaps, as one reader of the blog noted, they should do a mini-series next…?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ana Bastow permalink
    April 9, 2011 10:31 pm

    Thanks for the nod. 🙂
    I can’t buy it now (lack of funds) but I probably will. Read the bit about James and it seemed interesting and I want to know more about the wives of the Volturi’s: Sulpicia (very Roman name) and Athenodora.
    And I could bet an arm to Summit making the miniseries I mean rebotting is in now (look at Spiderman) and Summit doesn’t have any money making machine franchise like Twilight, they totally know that they can cash in on the hype again with another project and will probably serve as a brigde to the next batch of books, with Reneesme and Jacob. If they are business people they totally should be planning this.

  2. Futon Fighter permalink
    April 14, 2011 10:45 pm

    I got my copy yesterday (preordered) and kind of wish I hadn’t now.

    The backstories are interesting, to be sure, but there were a few things that I found bothersome, the first and main one being Meyer’s vampire mythology stipulating that the condition of vampirism necessitate pallour.

    Of all the insistences of Western vampire mythology I’ve found the insistence of pallour as an almost vampire requisite (for something that I’d always viewed quite frankly phenotypically unhelpful – if you’re arguing for vampires as a natural entity – for something likely to be hunting at night)- and especially when it refers to non-white vampires – puzzling. I don’t ever see how this directly correlates to blood-drinking or immortality. I always wonder how come these vampires lose pigment in their skin but not anywhere else, like their eyes or hair. It just seems like a very beside the point detail to insist upon. And yes, I’m sure someone will say that this is a prerequisite of making them – the vampires – twinkle but then but that’s like saying all precious stones must be like diamonds to refract light. What about rubies, and emeralds and sapphires? Or, really, why do darker vampires have to twinkle at all?

    I’m also not loving (and I’m sure this is a symptom of future plot loading) Leah getting loaded with more negative impetus, any more than I ever loved the use of the Quileute as devices.

    In fact, you could say another thing that did bother me about the series was the way the antagonism of the Cullens against the wolves was accepted without question. It never quite made sense to me: I can see why the wolves would hate the Cullens – their entire lives are in upheaval because of their presence but where the antagonism of the Cullens against the Quileute wolves came from was never obvious to me because if we’re supposed to value the Cullen’s supposed intelligence then surely they can see why the wolves are antagonistic in the first place – and that their NOT their ‘natural’ Children Of The Moon enemies (and why do they hate each other anyway?) yet we’re suppose to accept that it’s because werewolves and vampires have an inexplicable emnity just because?

    If the Cullens are bending their natures by being ‘vegetarian’ how hard can it be not to be repeatedly obnoxious to people who keep risking their lives for them? I just never bought the ‘sworn enemies’ explanation for generating antagonism from the Cullens to the Quileute wolves.

    I also found Meyer’s quote about her series being about choice another confounder when it seemed to me that imprinting was the polar opposite of free will. Unless she can go back and add some layers to what imprinting is and put it within a context then it seems to me that Jacob cannot ever choose to love someone other than Rennesme which doesn’t sound like choice to me. I suppose it’s a good thing no one’s imprinted on any serial killers.

    I have other issues with it but in the main, I feel that the many complaints that have been levelled against the series can now land on something substantial that isn’t just based on one character’s POV but then that’s a conclusion made on a first impression. I suppose there’s that.

    • Futon Fighter permalink
      April 14, 2011 10:49 pm

      ps – I thought the Alice backstory was alluded to in the first Twilight book? I remember it being necessarily rather vague but wasn’t the involvement of James in her genesis/history stated? As well as her lack of memory due to her shock treatment in the asylum?

Trackbacks

  1. Before the Dawn: A Twilight Podcast » Blog Archive » Episode 91: News to Week of April 8th

Leave a Reply

