Skip to content

Vampire Diaries is Back… And so is Katherine

September 13, 2010

Poor, poor Damon. This is my main reaction to the season opener.

I am liking Nina Dobrev as the evil Katherine.

I am thinking Stefon is looking too skinny and needs to eat (drink) more often….

I am glad Jeremy is still human. He just doesn’t seem like the vampire type.

I have not read the books so don’t know if the hints of werewolves will come to fruition – I hope so! Vampires get all the love these days and I think these more furry monsters are under-utilized.

Now, off to the season finale of True Blood. Eric better not be truly dead!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 12:42 am

    What I liked about the season opener is that it was so much darker than last season. I really could care less about Elena’s brother and his angst. I really like seeing Bonnie coming into her own. As for the books they are absolutely useless and the series is much better. Also book is a misnomer because at 150 pages they are more like long senseless pamphlets.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      September 14, 2010 7:42 pm

      I agree! I like dark Kathryn and the darker narrative arcs in general! But I like Jeremy… He is a cutie (and my daughter’s favorite). I am happy to see more of Bonnie as well and hope her storylines keep growing along with her powers! I have not read the books… Are they really that bad?

  2. September 14, 2010 7:47 pm

    Yes the books are that bad. At parts they make absolutely no sense. Don’t say that I didn’t warn you should you decide to corrupt your brain with them. I would venture to say that Harris, the author of Twilight is better writer purple prose and all.

    I am going to be doing a weekly Vampire Diaries podcast this year since the popularity is rising and I am reading them. I look forward to reading what you have to say about the series as it goes along.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      September 14, 2010 11:21 pm

      Woo-hoo. Where/when will the podcasts be?

  3. September 14, 2010 11:28 pm

    I am going to be doing them on blog talk radio. They will probably be Mondays from 6-7 and for those that cannot call in live I will post the podcast on the blog.

  4. Abigail Thomas permalink
    September 21, 2010 9:52 pm

    Ok first off, don’t compare the books to the show. They are two totally different things. Personally, I love the show and the book and wish the show was more like the books. They could have at least named the town the same thing and not taken out a whole major character. The shows are good for television but would make horrible books, while the books are good on paper and would be good movies but needed to be expanded for the show. I didn’t see the point of changing the town’s name, taking out Meredith, changing Bonnie’s personality completely, changing how long it had been since her parents died, and changing Elena’s little 3 or 4 year old sister to Jeremy. I am not a hater of the show, like I have stated before I love the show I even live where they film some of it, but when comparing the two I get angry. I like to think of the show and the book as different entities with similar aspects.

  5. Lashalia permalink
    September 25, 2010 2:45 am

    I love Ian somelander character as Damon I love Damon and I am happy that I am team Damon. I felt bad for Damon he had to go through that rejection that he felt in season one all over again. Stefan has gotten so insecure with Elena ( he is afraid of competing against my Damon) lol but Nina does a great job playing 2 characters most people can’t do that.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      September 25, 2010 3:08 pm

      Lashalia,
      I agree that Nina Dobrev does a great job playing 2 characters.
      I like Damon too and appreciate the complexity of his character (and, ahem, his smoldering good looks!)
      And I am psyched for the new werewolf turn of events…

Leave a Reply

