Skip to content

No Tax Day for the Cullens…

April 16, 2010

Thanks to the investigative work of intrepid Twilight reporter Amanda Bell, I discovered Carlisle Cullen landed the number one spot on Forbes richest character list, the “Fictional 15.”  According to Forbes, the good doctor is worth a whopping 34.1 billion. Wow, talk about wealth privilege!

In the video accompanying the story, Nicole Perlroth reports that the IRS has been tracking Carlisle down for all the taxes he hasn’t paid for over 300 YEARS! No fair! Non-wealthy me came up owing 2,500 to the fed this year and I don’t own a private island or yacht or even a house with glass walls! Of course, that’s the grossness of our tax system – the richer you are, the less you tend to pay. Think Dr. C has any off-shore bank accounts? I bet he does!

(Part 4 of “Got Vampire Privilege” will be posted in a few days…)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 4:28 am

    Carlisle has beaten the two certainties in life: death and taxes. Vampirism is beginning to look a lot better from this end. lol

  2. April 16, 2010 6:31 pm

    Oh I didn’t knew you hunted Twilight references on the media. Did you catched this one: Twilight’ series on list of challenged books http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100414/ap_en_ot/us_challenged_books

    They state the sexual content was one of the reasons…I like to know what version of books did they read and where I can get then 😉

  3. edwardporsiempre permalink
    April 19, 2010 6:07 pm

    Didn’t knew you were on the hunt for other stories. How about this one http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100414/ap_en_ot/us_challenged_books

    What do you think?

    I particularly want to know which versions of Twilight did they read and where I could get them 😉

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      April 23, 2010 9:02 pm

      I did see that story… I generally think that most parents challenge Twilight for all the wrong reasons. For one, I think kids SHOULD be exposed to sex/sexuality – humans are sexual creatures – it’s not like they only become such when puberty hits. For two, my “challenge” to Twilight is not do to with its supposed “raunch” but due to its problematic representations of women, people of color, white privilege, violence as proof of love, etc. But I still would never reject it out of hand as its more complicated than it is sometimes perceived to be – it does have its moments of subversion/transgression… Third, I am against banning books full stop.

  4. April 21, 2010 7:11 pm

    Wouldn’t he owe taxes to multiple countries? If I recall correctly, Carlisle was born somewhere in the UK, spent time on the continent (especially Italy with the Volturi), and then moved to the US later.

    I paid the IRS about $2,800 this year. It’s a pretty hard core change from working on campus as a student on a W-2. Tax season used to mean a nice refund check. No longer.

    Oh, the joys of “the lost generation.” Just out of school and the only jobs out there are employer commitment-free contract positions. And as a prize for no job stability or benefits, you get to pay all of your FICA. Wooo…hoo? I didn’t make much more in 2009 as a “young professional” than I did in 2008 as a “promising undergrad” and I’m keeping significantly less of it.

    Oh, well. I guess everyone has something to complain about when it comes to taxes though, right?

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      April 23, 2010 8:58 pm

      I am no tax expert, but I know the wealthier you are, the more tax loopholes you can take advantage of. I do know you don’t have to pay taxes in a country just because you once lived there — thank goodness or I would be paying taxes to the UK and Mexico too.

      As to your “I guess everyone has something to complain about when it comes to taxes though, right?” I would say not everyone — not Carlisle and not big-corporations (who use offshore accounts and other tactics to avoid having to pay uncle sam).

  5. April 24, 2010 1:10 am

    Well I just though she was exaggerating this books have no sexual scenes, but they do have sensual scenes not sure if that is what they are uncomfortable about and of course I would never advocate banning books as well.

Leave a Reply

