Skip to content

Twilight College Course Approved!

March 19, 2010

Found out today that not only is the course I proposed – Twilight: The Texts and the Fandom – approved to run in fall — it is also going to count for general education! Woo-hoo!

I can hear all those naysayers that claim Twilight has nothing to teach us shrieking in dismay “Oh, it’s the end of the academy!”  Well, the same arguments were made when Harry Potter, Buffy, and Star Trek courses made it onto the curriculum. As such courses have proven, examining popular texts and popular culture has much to tell us about our historical epoch, about race, class, gender, sexuality, philosophy, literature, etc.

I am thrilled to be teaching this course and CAN’T wait to analyze the texts and the fandom with my students. If you live in San Diego, come join us!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 1:48 pm

    FELICIDADES!!! 🙂

    Wish you the best and I hope you comment any interesting happening during the courses in this blog!

    Congratulations again.

  2. March 19, 2010 3:11 pm

    Congrats, Natalie! I would love to take your course. I’m sure it’ll be packed full in absolutely no time.

    I agree with Ana – I bet there will be lots of interesting discussions in the class that would be great for the blog.

  3. natalie wilson permalink*
    March 19, 2010 6:25 pm

    Thanks! I do actually plan on making the blog part of the course — especially as the class will focus on the Twi-net world, it seems only fitting to have an internet/blog component! Also, I am in hopes this allows others to be a part of the class that can’t take it. I plan on posting reading assignments and updates on class discussion as well as summarizing what we do in class each week. Any ideas you have for how to make the blog productive in this capacity are much appreciated!

  4. March 19, 2010 6:56 pm

    Oo, I’m so jealous of your students! Really looking forward to the blog posts.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 20, 2010 5:03 am

      Thanks, Lyndapress! I hope you can be a “virtual student” on the blog! Welcome!

    • Roxie permalink
      March 20, 2010 10:06 pm

      Me too! Very jealous! But SO happy for you 😀

  5. March 19, 2010 9:29 pm

    Congrats on getting the message across stuffy board rooms that “The Twilight Saga” has merit in education.

    I just subscribed two of my Twitter accounts to yours, so that I won’t miss out on anything.

    Btw, I lived in SJC, CA for 5 years, and spent a year at Cal State Fullerton studying Geology and then returned to my southern home, promptly earning a BA and an MA in English Lit. Go figure! I’m currently on hiatus from the PhD program at the University of Memphis. I’ll be contributing to your blog and looking forward to learning along with everyone else; having completed my coursework, I really miss the classroom environment.

    Thanks for allowing us to be a part of your Twi-world! 🙂

  6. Faye Short permalink
    March 21, 2010 11:29 am

    i am so happy for you 😀 but i am also very jealous that i can’t be apart of this class :/ so will you be posting the assignments on here?? because i would love to see them. xx

  7. March 22, 2010 5:29 am

    Hello! I’ve been a lurker on your blog for a month or two, and I am totally thrilled about this! I’m in San Diego, how can I participate?

  8. MaryK permalink
    March 22, 2010 1:29 pm

    Oh, how I wish I could take this! I second Faye’s comment. Do you foresee posting your syllabus or class notes anywhere?

  9. Mathias permalink
    March 23, 2010 12:49 am

    Congrats! You have no idea how happy I am you’re publishing part of the course online, as I live in Uruguay there is no chance I could take it, but I will follow everything you post! Thank you so much the twilight saga is awesome!!

  10. natalie wilson permalink*
    March 23, 2010 8:15 pm

    To answer some of your questions…

    1. So will you be posting the assignments on here?? Yes, I will!

    2. I’m in San Diego, how can I participate? You can participate virtually or you can (if you are able) sign up for the class and come in person!

    3. Do you foresee posting your syllabus or class notes anywhere? Yes to both.

  11. Scarlet permalink
    March 26, 2010 6:23 pm

    An Internet course on the Twilight Saga would be spectacular. I’m going into my third year and unfortunately live in Indiana.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 30, 2010 2:21 pm

      Scarlet,
      Glad you like the idea! Posts regarding the course will start in late August.

  12. Blysse permalink
    July 25, 2010 11:42 pm

    Really looking forward to this Natalie. I live in the UK but heard you speak as part of a panel at Twicon in Dallas 2009.
    Sign me up for online student status!

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      August 27, 2010 2:32 pm

      Yes — sorry for the delay — I will post this in relation to the upcoming “virtual course” when we study racism in the texts.

Leave a Reply

