Skip to content

Am I the only person in the Twi-niverse not seeing New Moon tonight?

November 20, 2009

I am not a fan of crowded movie theatres. For musicals and plays, where there is no choice but to sit shoulder to shoulder, I can live with it (and maybe perhaps because such audiences still seem more respectful of theatre going decorum.)

But, at movie theatres, the glow of cell phone screens, the chattering, the talking, the general lack of a sense that one should be QUIET during the movie drives me mad. This is why I wait to see films until well into their release and even then avoid weekend movie nights.

I like an empty theatre, a quiet theatre, a darkened auditorium where only the most devoted and most silent viewers are ready to be taken away by the magic of cinema.

So, while I toyed with the idea of a midnight showing, I will wait to see the New Moon until next week, go to a 10 a.m. showing, and hope I find myself amongst some quiet fans.

I know, I am missing the whole communal experience, but I don t want a movie theatre to be communal   I want a silent audience where the only noises are the soft, careful munching of slowly eaten extra buttery popcorn, the occasional laugh, or the intermittent auditory emotion.

And for those of you who leave your cell phone on during movies, answer calls, and proceed to talk as if you were the only person in the theatre, I hope Laurent finds you alone in a meadow with not a protector-wolf in sight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    November 20, 2009 4:00 pm

    I agree. While I like a stadium of screaming fans for a sporting event, I’d like to be able watch attentively for detail in a movie, especially one based on a text I know well. Discussions are great, after the movie! If I want talking and yelling during a movie, I’ll rent it and watch with my children. At least then I can turn on the subtitles and go back to the bits I missed.

  2. Angela permalink
    December 14, 2009 2:18 am

    I agree, too, but I think there are different reasons to attend events. I had planned to go to the New Moon premiere, but fate had other plans, so I missed it. I did attend the Twilight premiere, though, and while it was the worst setting for watching the film, it was great for watching the fans. To me, the premiere is a phenomenon, of sorts; I return another time to actually watch the movie, but at the premiere, I get to watch the crowd. That being said, though, I doubt the so-called phenomenon was substantially different at the New Moon premiere; maybe I didn’t miss that much!

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      December 23, 2009 10:11 pm

      Angela,
      Very true!
      I wish I was not so crowd averse… I need to get over this! Maybe by the time Eclipse comes out i will be ready to attend a premiere showing…

Leave a Reply

