Skip to content

Breaking Dawn: Part 1 – Best and Worst Bits

November 21, 2011

Best bits:

  • Rosalie hefting the log benches in preparation for the royal vampire wedding
  • ALL of Jessica’s lines – especially her toast
  • Charlie’s wedding toast
  • Bella’s line to Edward “What, you’re not a virgin?”
  • Edward’s lips were less red and smiled more often. Yay!
  • The waterfall jump. Though I would have preferred a non-white bikini.
  • The added scene with Esme, Carlisle, and Emmett going off hunting. Though why the f*** did Esme need saving??? Notice a pattern here, despite the claims that Twi-females are sooo strong….?
  • The flashback, montage scenes.
  • The music.

Worst bits:

  • Bella does not give a wedding toast. I know, I know, to do so wouldn’t really be in keeping with her character, but I wanted to hear her speech nonetheless.
  • The line “It’s like this miracle or something, I can feel HIM.” ….AND the entire framing of the pregnancy as a “godsend” accompanied by NO questioning of why Bella sees the baby as male. Hello? Patriarchy much?!?
  • Leah’s acting – sorry, but, NOT GOOD.
  • Esme’s sandwiches – silly, silly, silly. And framed Leah as even more bitchy. Take the damn sandwich, Leah!
  • Edward touching the MIRACLE stomach and hearing “the baby.” Ugh. Gag me with a werewolf.
  • The imprinting scenes. Gross. Gross. Total gross.
  • The Volturi closing scene. Was it supposed to seem like a parody? Or serious? Whatever they were aiming for, it didn’t hit the mark. Well, unless they were trying to up the violence against women quotient…
13 Comments leave one →
  1. dreamerjess147 permalink
    November 22, 2011 1:57 am

    Thanks for noting the part about Bella “sensing” the monster fetus–er, baby–was male. In the book, she also states she wants the baby to look exactly like Edward, without her (nonexistent) physical flaws. This reflects on the idea that Bella sees nothing good in herself, while she idolizes Edward. Then she’s hoping for another little idol that wants to kill her. “Gag me with a werewolf”, indeed.

    I HATED the imprinting. Absolutely hated it. It seems that Stephenie Meyer must ruin all her better characters. First Alice with the whole “kidnapping” thing, then turning Jacob into a “pedowolf”. Now, granted, Jacob has done some questionable things before as well (like kissing Bella without her permission and using gay slurs), but this tops it all. Gross, gross, gross. I realize that Meyer probably didn’t want Jacob to be “forever alone”, but that was a horrible way to handle it.

    Before I finished the fourth book, I actually thought Jacob would hook up with Leah–and I wouldn’t have minded it. I’m sorry to hear that Leah was completely bitchy in the movie; I found her rather sympathetic in the books. She has every reason to be mad at the world: the love of her life imprinted on someone else, she’s found out she’s a werewolf, and her biological hormones are messed up too (in the books, it notes her period stops because of the werewolf curse, and she describes herself as “twenty years old and menopausal”). It was interesting to see her and Jacob begin to respect one another.

    You could probably write another book about the movies alone.

    • Leah permalink
      November 22, 2011 4:55 am

      I found Leah the same way in the movie that she was in the books and I loved her. She didn’t get enough lines though. They left out her part about understanding Bella’s choice. I never wanted her with Jacob though. I actually wanted her with Embry, because he was a doll and I think the most healing love for her would be from someone who doesn’t have their own demons and can see beyond her baggage to the woman underneath. Not that we know anything about Embry really, but I like to believe that he could be that man for her. :)

  2. Leah permalink
    November 22, 2011 4:44 am

    I am disappointed that when Bella announced that she wanted to name the baby Edward Jacob that Edward didn’t respond he wanted to name their daughter Bella Tanya! At least they made fun of the name Renesmee.

    I actually enjoy the actress playing Leah. I think she does her justice. I love bitchy Leah. She was the same in the book throwing the cinnamon buns in the river. She doesn’t pretend to like those she doesn’t like. She’s honest and isn’t afraid to tell someone what she thinks. I think she is one of the strongest female characters in the series. I wish she had gotten more lines.

    I loved Jessica Stanley’s lines. They were fantastic. Renee’s singing was also awesome!

    I don’t agree that Bella thinking she is having a boy is a representation of patriarchy. Some women prefer one gender over the other. Do you know how many women I know that only want a baby girl? I actually think that is more common. What I find amusing is that Edward didn’t pick up on the fact that she was a girl when he heard her thoughts.

    I agree about Esme needing saving to a point but if they wanted to be real sexist they could have had Carlisle and Emmett not allow her to put herself in danger because in actuality one werewolf has the potential to take down a vampire and there were two werewolves. I was actually surprised how balanced the fighting was in the final scenes.

    I totally agree about imprinting though. That has grossed me out since I read the books. The moment we found out about Quil I was disgusted. You want to talk patriarchy and the male gaze – that is imprinting – except it takes it to the extreme because they are actually babies and not just pre-pubescent young girls.

  3. Jessica permalink
    November 22, 2011 5:09 am

    Quite a few things you listed on the worst bits list were all part of the book. Personally, I would have been upset as well as a lot of fans would have been if those parts weren’t in the movie, simply because they were part of the book. Maybe in a traditional movie that was not adapted from a book, they could be considered “worst bits” but they are straight from the book and this is the best book adaptation of all the movies so far. So if you want to complain about those parts, complain to Stephenie Meyer.

  4. November 22, 2011 8:50 pm

    Hi Natalie,
    I enjoyed your reviews. I watched with a friend with zero knowledge of Twilight, and having to explain the plot and back story only highlighted some of the absurdity. I’m finally finished with my book (I don’t recommend having a second child with two book contracts), and I thought you might be interested in these two sites:

    http://www.goodreads.com/blog/show/321-do-you-live-in-the-twilight-belt-infographic

    http://www.burkemuseum.org/truth_vs_twilight/index.php

    I just wrote an article using them, and they’re in my book.
    Hope you’re well-

  5. November 23, 2011 12:03 am

    Having a background heavy in Biology, I wasn’t put off by the imprinting itself, as much as I was by what it intimated. Due to the were gene, these Shape Shifters imprinted like twisted birds. Imprinting in birds occurs at birth, as birds identify with their parents and therefore, learn how to be the better bird. Some penguins imprint on one another when they mate, and therefore, remain mated throughout their lives; when death of a mate occurs, finding a new mate is difficult and the bird may be removed from the breeding cycle for several years. But not all penguins do this; the Emperor, for example, has genes that have programmed this bird to seek out a different mate each cycle in order to assure better survival rates among offspring and to encourage mutation and evolution of the species.

    This filial imprinting that occurs is time sensitive. In other words, imprintation must occur within a given time span to be effective. With most birds, it happens after hatching. In humans, it occurs in utero, as the offspring learn to recognize his or her parents’ voices. But according to the Westermarck Effect, young humans constantly exposed to one another early in life are found to be repelled sexually to each other later in life. Don’t even bother with asking Freud; hell, everyone wanted to mount everyone else in the family according to him.

    But why do the Twi-weres imprint? What purpose does it serve? Imprinting for them implies the “Perfect Match” will be ensured–not for survival or passage of the were gene successfully, but for simply, happiness. In nature, that’s beyond stupid. If an animal passes along its genes at all, then they’re the lucky ones (don’t believe in luck, but I’m using this word as in “fortunate” or perhaps as “kismet.”). If males reproduce enough, this effort maximizes their own genes’ survival to the next generation. There simply isn’t a reason valid in Biology for the Twi-weres’ imprinting.

    However, there is a cultural reason for the way these pseudo wolves choose their mates. Even if you overlook the obvious differences of the equation [Vampires + white, scintillating skin =rich, successful, educated, gifted while Weres + dark skin =poor, backwoods, scantily educated, simple], then imprinting suggests a species given over wholly to impulses and who are primitive in form and methodology. The Twi-weres have no choice once imprintation occurs… it’s like gravity. And for me, this is just one more stick of ammunition to add to the detrimental state of the Quileutes in the books. The vampires can choose; why not the weres? Ah, I think I’ve already stated the reason why.

    Additionally, there is a rumor that the R rated version of the honeymoon night will be on the DVD when it’s released. Sad, though, that nothing was filmed with Jacob, Leah, and Seth bonding whilst patrolling the perimeter of the Cullen property. I think that was roughly 200 pages in the book and it was not included in the screenplay. I know, I know. If they filmed it all, we’d all still be in the theaters. Still.

    Lastly, here’s a news blurb I thought interesting. Although the birth scene did not gross me out or stunt my growth, it did inflict psychological drama on one person:

    http://www.abc4.com/mostpopular/story/Lehi-man-says-Twilight-movie-prompted-his-seizure/aXqbrTw0qUOv7VYk3p8Zcw.cspx

    Now that’s what I call bizarre or should be be more realistic and say, “gold diggers?”

    • dreamerjess147 permalink
      November 23, 2011 3:25 am

      Fascinating informatiuon. Thank you, Lin. Are you into evolutionary psychology, by any chance? I took a class on it a while ago and found it interesting and quite meaningful.

      • November 23, 2011 4:49 am

        Hi Jess!

        I majored in psych in high school, but went on to Biology, Geology, and English Lit. What a combination, eh? lol I have two people in my life who are very near my heart and we are constantly discussing current issues in psychology. I pick up so information from them, as they both have MA’s in psych. Having said all of that, I am totally fascinated with evolution and what has been built upon the Darwin/Wallace theories. Of course, anything that explains behavior in any animal also fascinates me.

        Thanks so much for your compliment and kudos to you on the evol psych class! That totally rocks! :-)

  6. November 23, 2011 1:06 am

    I read an interview with the director wherein he said that he purposely decided to make the film campy, so perhaps some of the excess and artifice you’re noting in terms of the Volturri, or even the need to save Esme, was done on purpose to foreground the constructedness of the narrative.

    • dreamerjess147 permalink
      November 23, 2011 3:26 am

      I’ve heard from many sources that Robert Pattinson actually hates Edward; I’m wondering if he had something to do with that as well. But if you don’t like it, why act in it or direct it? Oh, that’s right: money.

      • Roxie Moxie permalink
        December 1, 2011 6:38 pm

        I don’t think this is accurate, but a misinterpretation of a quote given for an interview. I blog about Twilight weekly and thus, have seen and read countless interviews given by Pattinson. He does not hate the character, but is perplexed by his incredible perfection (and how no one could be that perfect) contrasted with his deep self hatred.

  7. shewolf permalink
    September 28, 2013 11:25 pm

    Leah is the best! Julia Jones is a great actress and so beautiful. Vanessa Hudgens and Miranda Kerr would make a horrible Leah

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

