Skip to content

Happy Halloween! Check out this Halloween-themed podcast that discusses Twilight!

October 31, 2011

Please check out my guest appearance on In the Den with Dr. Jenn where I discuss Twilight!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dreamerjess147 permalink
    November 10, 2011 4:22 am

    That was fantastic! You did a great job.

    When I was in high school, I stumbled across “Twilight” and really enjoyed it. It wasn’t until I read “Eclipse” that I started seeing some very problematic elements. In particular, I was appallled at Edward’s controlling and jealous behavior. I’d never been crazy about him–while my BFF was Team Edward, I was Team Jacob–but I was especially suprised that Alice, a strong woman character I really liked, abetted him in holding Bella hostage.

    Even so, I held out hope. I made excuses for Bella’s submissiveness, and was pleased that she tried to force Edward to deal with the sex issue. I was rooting for her to be stronger, because I saw myself and Bella as being very alike–introverted, bookish, intuitive.

    Breaking Dawn pretty much wrecked my love of the series. Looking back, I think I honestly preferred imagining *my* life as a Twilight vampire than the actual series. I was fascinated with the idea of living forever, and it broke my heart that Bella didn’t use her new-found powers to travel, or go to college, or make a difference in the world. It seemed like such a waste for her to end up as a stay-at-home mom to Renesmee (who I found incredibly creepy).

    I’m especially glad that you mentioned you don’t want people to hate Twilight. Though I like to make fun of it, I don’t hate Twilight either. If books are food for thought, then Twilight is a cream puff–fluffy, insubstantial, and an unsuitable base for one’s entire diet, but an entertaining treat every once in a while.

    • Natalie Wilson permalink*
      November 15, 2011 12:41 am

      Dreamerjess,
      Thanks for your comment. I was disappointed in Alice’s behavior as well. I also rooted for Bella and wanted her to be stronger – I think many read Bella as they would like her to be rather than as she actually is in the texts. It’s nice that fans see her as strong and want her to succeed, but she is not all that strong in the texts. And, yes, BD ruined for a lot of people — although many fans site this as there very favorite book. Can’t wait to read all the reactions to the looming film release… Regarding her motherhood ending, given her strength and immortality, why indeed did she have to give up college? Is she going to spend the rest of her life picking out cute outfits for Renesmee, bonking Edward, and having more babies? That’s fine and dandy, but she could also get some degrees or become a vampire activist!
      And Twilight is a “cream puff–fluffy, insubstantial, and an unsuitable base for one’s entire diet, but an entertaining treat every once in a while” – I could not agree more! So well put!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

