Skip to content

USA Today on Meyer: Story of Jacob and Renesmee Not Done???

March 31, 2011

In an exclusive story from USA Today by Carol Memmott, Meyer is quoted as responding to queries about whether she will ever write another story about Edward and Bella with “The story’s already been told, and I doubt I’ll ever write another series based on the same characters.” But later, Memmott reports that “One question she won’t answer” is “whether the werewolf/shape shifter Jacob and Renesmee, the human/vampire hybrid child of Edward and Bella, could ever have children” quoting Meyer as saying: “That is a question I’m reserving the right not to answer, because there is a chance I’ll go back to their story.”

So, it seems Bella and Edward’s story is told, done, finito – BUT not Jacob’s and Renesmee’s. Could this be because Bella and Edward are married and have a child? What else could it mean? I mean, they live FOREVER, so it seems like there could be a lot more story!

Yet, Meyer’s framing of Bella and Edward’s story as done emphasizes the ROMANTIC core of the narrative – that it was all about love then marriage then baby all along – Volturi, wolves, rogue vampires, and newborns be damned!

Of course the romantic core of the saga is the massive heart chakra of its allure, but there is a lot more to the entire Twilight narrative arc than boy meets girl, girl marries boy, headboard gets busted, baby emerges among spouting geyser of blood….

Alas, Meyer seems to agree with the formula of many a nineteenth century novels – once the wedding bells ring, the tale is done.

As for the story of Renesmee and Jacob. EEEEEWWWW. I just can’t get over the eewww factor. Yeah, I get it, he won’t age as a werewolf and she is aging at a super accelerated pace. But. Still. Eewww. Don’t want to hear it.
What do you all think?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2011 7:11 am

    My current research involves following the sequential steps leading up to the declawing of the werewolf and currently, Meyer holds the record for taming the beast. I’m not the least happy with what she has done to werewolf lore and how she has used it to shame any people who are not lily white.

    For me to think of the further dilution of werewolf lore and the further potential for the degradation of a particular sect of society, sugar coated like so much propaganda-Bah! It makes my head spin. Thanks, but no thanks.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 31, 2011 3:00 pm

      Lin,
      I think you are gonna like my newest essay — it’s all about werewolve lore vs shape-shifter tales! (but won’t be out for awhile – it’s in the anthology I am co-editing).
      Meyer sure does “tame the beast”!!!
      In my research into werewolf lore, I found it often was used (esp in its early days in Europe) to shame cultural outsiders – the poor, people of color, those deemed insane. So, it does have a history of being used to keep the privilege/oppression matrix in place!

  2. AstiE7 permalink
    March 31, 2011 9:21 am

    I’m currently writing my thesis on Twilight and I see Renesmee as a bridge between binary oppositions that helps solve the central conflict. She is half human/ half vampire but also bridges the gap between vampires and werewolves in the relationship with Jacob. My claim is that she destabilizes the patriarchal order with her in-between status.

    But it’s true that there is something weird to the idea of Jacob and Renesmee and I wouldn’t want to know how their story goes on…

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 31, 2011 3:02 pm

      Sounds like a very interesting thesis! I like the idea of Renesmee being a patriarchal de-stabilizer! I wonder if you are examining her in relation to white privilege and colonization as well… I read her partly as a “lynch-pin” between the Cullens and the Quileute, as the “blessed child” that “turns” Jacob to their side (and ultimately leads to his assimilation into the Cullen clan…).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 115 other followers

