Skip to content

What – no bruises? The Honeymoon Photo from Breaking Dawn

January 13, 2011

What a shocker that the new wedding night photo from Breaking Dawn shows Edward on top! And, no sign of the bruises to come — or, as Bella calls them, “decorations.” I am soooo anxious to see how the film will deal with the quasi abusive/masochistic headboard busting seen. It will be hard to make a black and blue covered Bella look all romantically post-coital…

19 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 8:48 pm

    My guess is that this is not the first night given that Edward its not freaking out. So it must be the other times they did it during the honeymoon.

  2. Karoline permalink
    February 4, 2011 9:40 am

    Maybe they’ll skip the bruises altogether and have Edward damage headboards and pillows only.

    • February 4, 2011 8:24 pm

      I don’t think so. I think someone on the forums said that the images that were taken by the fans on Brazil had Bella with bruises on her leg and she is covering herself with a blue sweater which doesn’t make sense she is alone with her husband and its already very hot, so she is probably covering them. So I really think we will have them as part of the movie.

  3. Futon Fighter permalink
    February 6, 2011 11:46 am

    I do hope they don’t skip the bruises. I know people want to avoid them perhaps because of the subtextual implications but at the end of the day it makes sense in terms of him being exceptionally strong and her bruising easily. It’s part of the story’s reality and why Edward has been so careful for the last three books (I say books because I feel some of the ideas in the films have been as clear to the casual viewer as mud – I swear if we get to film four and people are still asking why Jacob and co never wear shirts… Entirely the fault of the screen writer, who has been consistently horrible from day one – to the point that I’m wondering if she’s related to someone high up in Summit’s hierarchy because I don’t get why she wasn’t replaced after the first film. For a start her focus is already split as she works on a TV show. Would it kill to get a writer not committed to a TV project?).

    Anyway personal grumbles aside I can’t say I have high expectations for consistency and connection to the original text – which was always simple enough – so your guess is as good as mine.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 16, 2011 9:12 pm

      Would love to hear more about the screenwriter, whom I know very little about. Would you be interested in writing a guest post? (and sorry for the very delayed reply!)

      • Futon Fighter permalink
        April 7, 2011 4:33 pm

        Uhm, depends on what the post is about and how long I get to come up with it.

        As for the screenwriter – who I wasn’t keen on from the outset, i.e. after seeing her first effort – I know that she also writes for Dexter and that she had a commitment to both. I know that she keeps cutting away from the Bella POV maintained in the books (which I find bothersome for two reasons: 1. What happens if they try to do a film from another character’s POV, I mean, say for example Mrs Meyer finally finishes Midnight Sun and is so inspired she does four more books that cover the events of the Twilight series from different character’s POVs – then what?; 2. The books aren’t an omniscient POV, they’re entirely privy to Bella’s feelings, insights, and lack of the same – when people complain about how the books are written I feel that it’s hard to judge because it’s symptomatic of the character. Anyway with the exception of the moment in NM where the wolves chase Victoria through the woods, which was so nicely done that I credit it entirely to Chris Weitz, I wish she would stop cheating in a sense and commit to the characters – in particular I dislike the fact that in the first film Bella and Edward never seem to have a real conversation and it made their falling in love on screen rather shallow); and I know that she said herself that she delayed writing the script for Eclipse under the assumption that it would be easy and then realised that it was more talky than action. Needless to say the script suffered.

        (ETA on this point: the humour. Bella’s slight sarcasm never makes an entry in the films, it seems this got swapped for jokes at the expense of the characters that aren’t that funny.)

        I feel marginally annoyed that she basically just scrabble-d the books rather than looking at the themes of the books and drawing them more clearly into her adaption.

        Let me give an example: I remember Chuck Palahniuk saying the Jim Uhls added or rather made some themic parallels in the script of Fight Club that were latent in the book. So latent that he hadn’t thought to draw them himself.

        This never happens in the Twilight adaptions – mostly because I get the impression that the screenwriter thinks the books are MOR kitsch that the public happen to lap up. Unfortunately, I happen to think that when something reaches the degree of success that the Twilight books have had that it’s much more than that. You just can’t have something be that popular without it’s various themes touching a cultural subconscious vein somehow.

        [Another ETA: I know some people will argue that Twilight is rather daft rather than say Fight Club or The Talented Mr Ripley - but then, I think that you could have viewed Twin Peaks as daft in some senses but I always felt that it worked because it didn't mock the characters and had an emotional authenticity and consistent mood (for the first season or so, but I digress...). It's not impossible to augment the ideas in the books so that the themes are clearer in the script.]

        While I haven’t isolated what those themes are exactly, I’m at least willing to credit that they’re there, which I feel is what a good screen writer should do: cut to the chase of what the books are. To do that you have to both realise that something’s there and care to find out what it is.

        I am willing to appreciate that each adaption and director will bring something different: Anthony Minghella once said that adaption of a book is like drinking a wine and then describing the taste; the taste will be different for everyone, as may be the descriptors. However, having the same screenwriter each time was, I presume, a means to nail down a kind of skeletal consistency. All I ever get from the scripts each time out is that they’re written by someone who doesn’t think very much of the books or the characters and even when she did her attention was split between that and something else.

        It’s worth mentioning that most of this describes my opinion on the screen writer, so if you were asking me to post my knowlegde of her outright, it probably won’t be a good idea.

      • natalie wilson permalink*
        April 9, 2011 8:46 pm

        Futon Fighter,
        I totally agree with you regarding your opinion that “I happen to think that when something reaches the degree of success that the Twilight books have had that it’s much more than that. You just can’t have something be that popular without it’s various themes touching a cultural subconscious vein somehow.” Indeed, this is why I set out to write the book Seduced by Twilight which just came out. I would love to hear your take on what “veins” the saga is touching…

  4. Tommy permalink
    February 7, 2011 9:28 pm

    “quasi abusive/masochistic”

    EXCUSE ME, but masochism =/= abuse, thank you very much.

    I am a (sado)masochist, and if my SO ever tried to abuse me I’d sue the hell out of hir.

    Also, I’ve suffered abuse in the past but didn’t enjoy it, nor did I find it sexually arousing.

    Sorry if I sound irritated, but I am. I was not expecting such a sudden generalization on one of your posts, which I find very interesting and insightful and (usually) devoid of nasty generalization.

  5. February 15, 2011 8:11 am

    Umm, I’m sure 90% of couples do it missionary the first time. That’s a pathetic thing to find sexist, it’s romantic. The bruising is meant to display edwards animalistic desire for her because it is his nature. Sexy as hell. It’s not like he enjoyed hurting her, it torments him.

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 16, 2011 9:05 pm

      Well, pardon me, but I find your response to bruises as “Sexy as hell” as “pathetic”… Reminds me of the rape apologist and domestic violence apologist line, as in “it’s not like he meant to hurt her” or “he just couldn’t help himself.”

  6. Ana Bastow permalink
    March 16, 2011 9:13 pm

    Natalie , there is a difference between a man that indeed harmed a woman using a lie and this that is a real situation Bella took the risks knowing very well what could happen. She made a choice long ago and she was very aware of Edward’s strength. I think you are infantilizing Bella when she clearly consented to sex with Edward, and she never withdrawed this consent, even if you personally believe she should its not your place to judge her very informed choices.

    Or a woman is not allowed to decide for herself what risks to her body are worth it? Are women that engage on rough sex/BDSM with express and enthusiast consent the same as women that are indeed raped or abused?

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      March 16, 2011 9:33 pm

      Ana, I agree that in the contexts of the story Bella consents. However, my analysis of the saga is largely concerned with its effects on readers and reader response. Bella may have consented to Edward, but real life readers of Twilight, many of whom are very young, don’t get the best messages about sex or one’s “first time” from this scene. How might the scene, for example, be an instance of women learning to accept their own cultural subordination (including the subordination of their desires) when they, as Janice Radway calls it, “read the romance”?
      And of course rough sex/BDSM is not the same as rape/sexual abuse — I never suggested as much.
      The bigger issue is that violence against women is sexualized to a great degree in our culture and women are thus encouraged to “choose” to see violence as proof of love or as sexy. There is a dangerous cross-wiring between violence and sexuality, a cross-wiring that I feel the saga does little to critique or re-work — instead, it romanticizes Edward’s and Jacob’s violence and makes it all ok by framing Bella as consenting to it.

      • Ana Bastow permalink
        March 16, 2011 9:51 pm

        But you are assuming that women don’t get the difference between the fantasy and the reality and that is where I disagree.
        I belong to three major twilight saga fandoms and so for neither of the women had have a man acting violent towards them and consider it romantic or been acceptable no to mention that domestic violence is a lot more complicated than what a book might suggest.
        One of the best things about Edward is that he is not real and women know that very well, the story works because the context explains it all. I mean if twilight was told from Edward’s POV I would be concerned because we wouldn’t see how things played up but given that Bella explains everything in detail I don’t think the readers are naive to think that this somehow would work on any other case.

        This is the same issue I had with some of my religious friends thinking that kids that read Harry Potter will start doing sorcery, I will quote JK Rowling. Kids are smarter than adults give them credit for, YMMV.

      • natalie wilson permalink*
        March 16, 2011 11:41 pm

        No, I am not assuming that. I agree with Janice Radway’s theories of reading — are you familiar with those? Or with Tania Modleski’s? It’s not that women can’t tell the difference between fantasy and reality, it’s that texts have a cumulative effect on our psyches. Your line of thinking sounds like the “it’s just entertainment” argument so often made about texts and popular culture – as if what we consume to entertain us has no effect on our desires, fantasies, concepts of love, etc. As a scholar of literature, cultural studies, and women’s studies, I subscribe to the notions that nothing is ever “just entertainment” — even when we KNOW it’s fantasy, it still has an impact, both individually and collectively.
        The fact that literary characters are not real doesn’t mean they don’t shape our desires and concepts of relationships in the REAL world. In fact, because they are often so idealized, they can SHAPE these things MORE than real people or encounters.
        As per Edward being a “special case” for Bella, she also condones abusive behavior from Jacob.
        I don’t think media or texts have a one to one correlation — ie read HP and you will do sorcery – but that they do have a profound effect on our psyches. See, for example, bell hooks arguments in her Enlightened Witness film about just how much media and texts affects us.

  7. Ana Bastow permalink
    March 17, 2011 12:32 am

    I have a degree on advertisement and there was a tons subjects dealing with psychology and the media and if the ads makes the market or the market makes the add was also part of my studies, wich readings of this and several authors. There is two schools of though about that, the one that believe like you that media can influence people and the other that says that people only respond to media they already were leaning to.
    I don’t deny the psychological accumulative effect, but you are only blaming Twilight on this instance, which was the point I was referring to. Do you have any other bruises during sex works of fiction that had aided to Twilight being accepted?

  8. Ana Bastow permalink
    April 7, 2011 4:44 pm

    Futon Fighter
    Wow that is an amazing analysis. I agree pretty much in everything you said. I think the original script for Twilight has more details, with some of Bella’s wry, sarcastic sense of humor but I agree with your take Melissa approach to the books is to improved them according to what she believes is right and not try to understand it. I also cringe every time I watch the movie because all Bella’s and Edward’s talk are muted with music on the background (the after kiss on the bed, the conversation on the tree, the meadow…) Really it would had killed her to write a line or two? Oh well.
    A this point I’m hoping for a miniseries a few years from now with a screen writer that doesn’t feel is too smart for the books and actually does her homework and tries to understand it. In fact I hope Kristen Stewart does purse a career as writer like she had mentioned it before and write the script I’m totally amazed but how great she understand Bella and how much of her internal process she put in her, the thing is that she only can show the Bella that Melissa wrote so that is why she is not like the Bella on the books, she is the “better Bella” Melissa wrote.
    Really great post :)

    • natalie wilson permalink*
      April 9, 2011 8:44 pm

      Thanks so much for your comment. I agree that a mini-series would be really interesting!

Trackbacks

  1. Episode 53: Dej Scratch Fever : Twilight Newborns
  2. Heterosexual Vampire Monogomy : Ms Magazine Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

